Tag Archives: folk

Tribulation’s Jonathan Hultén releases his new single “Wasteland” / Debut solo album released 13th March (Kscope)

Jonathan Hultén promo

JONATHAN HULTÉN, the darkly enigmatic Swedish Grammy-winning songwriter has premiered the second single, “Wasteland”, from his debut solo album Chants From Another Place, due for release on Kscope on 13th March.

Following on from the release of his first single “The Mountain”, Hultén explains the song’s theme Wasteland” is a way for me to put music to those vast stretches of barren landscape that exist in our hearts, the ones we have to cross during times of trials and tribulations. We don’t have any other choice but to walk those miles by ourselves in the night, until we eventually might start catching glimpses of a new dawn behind the horizon.”

Continue reading Tribulation’s Jonathan Hultén releases his new single “Wasteland” / Debut solo album released 13th March (Kscope)

REVIEW: Ofdrykkja – Gryningsvisor


by Carina Lawrence / Dark Art Conspiracy

Swedish atmospheric black metal act Ofdrykkja have been through their share of trials and tribulations relating to addiction and mental illness, with member Drabbad even being shot by the police and arrested in the past for drug offences, they recovered from this and created their second album ‘Irrfärd’ but they soon drifted apart to embark on their own journeys, luckily along the way they embraced a new and better outlook and found sobriety and regrouped to create their new and third album titled ‘Gryningsvisor’ which is Swedish for ‘Ballads At Dawn’ which marks their new direction and chapter as a band…

Continue reading REVIEW: Ofdrykkja – Gryningsvisor

DEEP DARK RIVER (Vesperia’s Morgan Rider) Posts New Video “The Golden Bough”

Best known for his vocals and bass playing in Canada’s much loved Vesperia, Morgan Rider is proud to reveal is his new video for “The Golden Bough” from his new solo acoustic folk, blues, doom side project DEEP DARK RIVER. The video addresses today’s recent tragedies of unfortunate victims from guns to war and the time to come together as a society and really push for difference from repeating these tragedies over and over again.

Rider comments:

“The song has been the most organic and charged song I’ve ever written. It talks about the very real issues we are facing in 2018 in the wake of yet another avoidable tragedy.
Continue reading DEEP DARK RIVER (Vesperia’s Morgan Rider) Posts New Video “The Golden Bough”

Glittertind create headlines in national newspapers in Norway

unnamed (63)


Norwegian folk-rockers have created headlines in national newspapers in Norway during a national controversy of whether or not to celebrate the 500 years of passing since the Reformation.

Glittertind started out as a folk-metal act with a record deal and two albums on Karmageddon Media (ex- Hammerheart records) and later one album on the Austrian metal label Napalm Records. In recent years the band has created records that are better labeled as folk-rock with a diverse range of elements from classical music to metal.

Their new album Himmelfall (‘Heaven Fall’) was released October 27th in Norway and commemorates the 500 years that has passed since the Reformation, and Protestantism was forced upon their homeland. The band created headlines in national newspapers during controversy over whether or not to celebrate that 500 years ago Martin Luther started his rebellion against the Church in Rome.

Continue reading Glittertind create headlines in national newspapers in Norway

VINTERSORG New album “Till Fjälls del II” coming soon!

It was a tricky question… How would Swedish duo Vintersorg continue after 2014’s intriguing album “Naturbål”? Shunning repetition, vocalist and mastermind Andreas „Vintersorg“ Hedlund did the unthinkable and composed a sequel to his groundbreaking 1998 album “Till Fjälls”, which is considered to be one of the most important albums in the genre of black/folk metal!

What to expect from “Till Fjälls del II”? No scientific lyrical concept, no progressive trickery, but a heartfelt return to snowcapped mountains, pure nature-inspired mysticism, Nordic folklore and real black metal with a captivating epic streak. VINTERSORG share a vision of equally harsh and melodic soundscapes that melt the raging extremes of the late 90s with the focus of 2016.

The worldwide album release is set for June 30 via Napalm Records!

unnamed (5).jpg

Till Fjälls del II track list:

1. Jökelväktaren
2. En väldig isvidds karga dräkt
3. Lavin
4. Fjällets mäktiga mur
5. Obygdens pionjär
6. Vinterstorm
7. Tusenåriga stråk
8. Allt mellan himmel och jord
9. Vårflod

1. Tillbaka till källorna
2. Köldens borg
3. Portalen
4. Svart måne

The album will be available as
2 CD 6 pages digipak
2LP gatefold edition (black vinyl, strictly limited to 300 copies worldwide)

Also available: The VINTERSORG classic “Ödemarkens son” from 1999 on vinyl for the first time ever!!! 1LP gatefold edition, strictly limited to 300 copies worldwide!!!

For More Info Visit:

#darkartconspiracy #metal #music #news