Norwegian black-metal band Mork reveal details on new album ‘Katedralen’

Following on mercilessly from 2020’s aptly titled ‘Pesta’ EP, Norwegian act Mork resumes its ascension through the ranks of the Scandinavian black metal scene with the fifth chapter, Katedralen, venturing ever further from the more primal early Darkthrone-based foundations, while still fundamentally keeping the grim flame of the old school in its DNA.

Katedralen is undoubtedly Mork’s most accomplished work to date, pushing new creative frontiers with a more dynamic approach to the song composition and an expanded breadth to the riffs and melodies, weaving a new masterpiece, the result, is a true personal work of intense spiritual catharsis from main-man Thomas Eriksen, he explains “The path I have walked from the first album up to this current day has been much needed for me to really find myself and what Mork is. The album has everything I want in an album, grooves, harshness, grandiosity, sadness, beauty and power. No rules, other than to respond to what comes out of my mind and soul while creating.”

The concept behind the album title Erikson continues, “‘Katedralen’ (cathedral) is actually an old one I’ve had laying around since the early days of Mork. I always had a vision of a vast desolate cold and dead land and a gigantic cathedral where lost souls are kept for all eternity. I remember fantasizing it being a concept EP, I suppose much like ‘Det Svarte Juv’ was envisioned back in the day. However, that one did not end up as a concept album. ‘Katedralen’ is not a concept album either, but I see now that all the tracks tie neatly together after all. In the end all the lost souls ends up at the base of the massive cathedral.

‘Katedralen’ was performed, recorded by Eriksen at Likkjelleren Studio and mixed by both him and Freddy Holm at Kleiva Studio, with mastering once more carried out by Jack Control at Enormous Door (Darkthrone). The album also notably includes guest appearances from Nocturno Culto of labelmates DarkthroneDolk of fellow countrymen Kampfar, & finally Eero Pöyry of doom masters Skepticism.Thomas expands on the significance of the special guests “To be able to include Eero Pöyry on the album is a big deal for me. As it ties it all together with me discovering the darker and more extreme depths of metal back in the beginning. At the same time I found Black Metal, I also stumbled into Funeral Doom, which also made an lasting impression on me. I will never forget the overwhelming feeling of emptiness and hopelessness I got when listening to Skepticism for the first time. Since my vision of “Katedralen” has to do with large and vast desolation and feelings, it is absolutely perfect having Eero putting his touch on this piece of my personal history and creation. I am forever thankful. I have to say it is a great honor to include yet again my good friend Nocturno Culto. The track we picked is just as fist-in-the-face enough to suit his contribution perfectly. It’s become our duet of pessimistic black metal purity. Great man and a total legend. When Dolk and I got together to figure out which track to consider, I didn’t know really what to expect, since I’ve never worked with the man. I do know his great skills in Kampfar, obviously. But when he got down with it and did his thing on «Født Til Å Herske», I was convinced instantly. His parts made the song. Genius. “ The suitably stark artwork once again appears courtesy of revered French artist David Thiérrée.

Mork was created by Thomas Eriksen in 2004 & was primarily a side-project from inception until the debut album, ‘Isebakke’, in 2013. Since then the band has rightly earned their accolade as one of the top Norwegian black metal acts of recent years, receiving strong endorsements from their peers.

Katedralen tracklisting   

1. Dodsmarsjen [04:57] 

2. Svartmalt [04:19] 

3. Arv [05:26] 

4. Evig Intens Smerte [06:58] 

5. Det Siste Gode I Meg [05:11] 

6. Fodt Til A Herske [06:33] 

7. Lysbaereren [05:10] 

8. De Fortapte Sjelers Katedral [09:28] 

Katedralen will be released on CD, gatefold black vinyl LP and digitally, through Peaceville on 5th March and is available to pre-order HERE (


The band have announced they will be supporting the new release with live shows – currently the following is confirmed which includes an album launch show in Oslo, Wacken Festival 2021 and the rescheduled dates with

Headline Shows

6th March – Norway, Oslo – Rockefeller – album launch show – tickets on sale here:

4th April – The Netherlands, Utrecht  – venue tbc                           


9th April  – Denmark, Aarhus  – Royal Metal Fest 

10th April -Germany, Lichtenfels  – Ragnarök                                

 21st May – Austria, Vienna – Vienna Metal Meeting   

29-31st July – Germany – Wacken Open Air Festival  

21st August – NCM Festival, Pyskowice, Poland              

Special guests to Winterfylleth – rescheduled dates 2021

13th May – London (UK) – Boston Music Room

14th May – Cologne (DE) – Club Volta

15th May – Cottbus (DE) – Zum Faulen August

16th May – Abtenau (AT) – The Temple

17th May – München (DE) – Backstage

18th May – Aarburg (CH) – Musigburg

19th May – Ljubljana (SI) – Orto Bar

20th May – Budapest (HU) – Dürer Kert

22nd May – Villingen (DE) – Klosterhof

23rd May – Gent (BE) – Throne Fest

24th May – Manchester (UK) – Rebellion Club

Follow MORK:

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s