London-based alternative-metal entity THE EVER LIVING have today announced their sophomore album, ‘Artificial Devices’, to be released on 15th July 2022. Fans can pre-order HERE. The announcement comes with the release of their first crushing single ‘Total Impasse,’ the band’s first new music since 2018’s critically acclaimed ‘Herephemine’.

‘Total Impasse’ sees the band evolve and refine their sound, pushing themselves to experiment further than ever before. Delivering a tsunami of drop-tuned riffs, and brutal orchestral movements from another realm, the band are reborn and renewed.

Speaking on their latest single, guitarist Andrei Alan comments: “The concept for ‘Total Impasse’ was to distil everything that makes THE EVER LIVING, into a 4-minute barrage of textures, riffs, melody and atmosphere.” Alan adds“We wanted to disorient and surprise the listener wherever possible using dissonance, polymeters and time-signature changes; so we aimed for chaos but simultaneously ended up with something more accessible than anything we have ever put out.”

Keyboardist/vocalists Chris Bevan Lee comments on the video adding: “The video represents the hurdles we have faced so far being a band and the drive that ultimately keeps us going, whilst feeling vulnerable and exposed.” 


‘Artificial Devices’ was born from burnout and existential dread, but creatively spurred on by resilience in difficult times. Collaborating with producer/engineer Jonny Renshaw (Devil Sold His Soul, Blood Youth, Casey) and mixing/mastering duties tackled by Magnus Lindberg (Cult of Luna); the album sees THE EVER LIVING evolve and grow beyond their previous works, weaponising their vulnerabilities and turning them into creative fuel.

The London duo –Chris Bevan Lee (vocalist, keyboards, programming) and Andrei Alan (guitars, bass, programming)– collaborated by writing and sharing files over the internet, to create what would become their richest work to date. “There we were on our last album, exploring and critiquing the dark side of virtual reality and just a couple of years later, we were using that same technology during a global crisis to stay connected with each other.” jests Bevan Lee.

‘Artificial Devices’ dense, sprawling soundscape unfurls its layers of complexity with every listen; enveloping the listener in waves of synths, electronic pads and flanked by a barrage of pummeling guitars. Slow and deliberate, with purpose, terraforming a new world with each passing movement. 

“Since releasing ‘Herephemine’, I struggled with writer’s block,” exclaims guitarist Andrei Alan. “My guitars no longer presented me with ideas, and I was starting to think that perhaps I had said everything that I had to say.” He adds: “In reality, I was avoiding putting myself out there again and exposing myself to the risk of any future disappointment.”

“We had lost our way, focusing on followers, likes and plays rather than writing and playing. We had fallen foul of the same pitfalls of blurring the lines between the virtual world and the real world. But now, inspired again, we realised as soon as we started writing… music is what compels us.”

Bevan Lee adds in summation: “We are becoming an extension of our phones, and social media profiles. Everything has to have a story, a meaning. We are turning into vessels, Artificial Devices.” 

‘Artificial Devices’ Tracklisting

1 Omniphorm
2 De-Emulate
3 Circadian March
4 Ruminance
Total Impasse
6 Kronosync
7 You’ve Come to the Right Place
8 Take Heed, Take Flight

‘Artificial Devices’ is out on 15th July 2022. More information and pre-orders are available HERE

Andrei Alan – Guitars, Bass, Programming
Chris Bevan Lee – Keyboards/Vocals, Programming


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s