Alexisonfire’s Wade MacNeil Scores Horror Film “Random Acts of Violence”

Dine Alone Records is excited to announce the release of the original score for the Jay Baruchel-directed horror film Random Acts of Violence by Wade MacNeil (Alexisonfire, Gallows) and Andrew “Ango” Macpherson (Goon: Last of the EnforcersDark Side of the Ring). The physical pre-order is live here, with the digital version to be released on streaming platforms October 30. Pre-save here.

Having lent their talents to the Far Cry video game series, Starlink: Battle for Atlas, Tom Clancy’s Rainbow Six: Siege, and horror films like The Ranger (Shudder), MacNeil and Macpherson have created an ominous yet understated and unsettling style of electronica. Characterized by its atmospheric soundscapes and a pulsating, hypnotic edge, the score perfectly echoes the themes depicted in an uncompromising, visually stunning film.

“When you’re scoring a film, you are creating a soundtrack for a world that doesn’t exist,” explains MacNeil. “Finding the sounds and melodies for that bleak stretch of rust belt highway in Random Acts was exhilarating. Making music to frighten people is such a unique way to spend your time in a studio. I love it.”

Based on the Image Comics graphic novel by Justin Gray and Jimmy Palmiotti, Random Acts of Violence is an elevated slasher horror that will easily become a cult favorite; scratching the entertainment element of horror while searching for the deeper meaning behind the violence. The film explores the idea of legitimizing cruelty and the fact that monsters are not merely monsters — they are broken people. Stretching from one end of the emotional spectrum to the other, it holds a mirror up to art, society, and violence.

MacNeil is the founder and guitarist of Alexisonfire, and has also served as frontman of renowned punk band Gallows. In 2017, he composed additional music for Jay Baruchel’s comedy Goon: Last of the Enforcers, where he met Andrew.

Macpherson is a producer, composer, and filmmaker. He has produced music for the likes of Jacques Greene, Machinedrum, Tommy Genesis, Cadence Weapon, Jesse Boykins III, Lunice, Katy B, Syv de Blare, and many more. He has also recorded for UK label LuckyMe Records and produced tracks for labels such as Last Gang, eOne, Ninja Tune, 4AD, B4 Sounds, True Romance, and 100%Silk. In 2015, Macpherson wrote and produced on the Juno-nominated album Dirty Laundry by Ben Stevenson and he is an alum and studio team member of the Red Bull Music Academy.

1. “There Can Be No Beginning”
2. “Slasherman Theme Song”
3. “Welcome To McBain”
4. “Curious Ghost”
5. “Kathy’s Book”
6. “From Myth To Man”
7. “1, 12, 18”
8. “Albany”
9. “The Tryptch”
10. “The Churn”
11. “Who Comes Up With This Stuff”
12. “Albany” (Reprise)
13. “4, 8, 35”
14. “Return To McBain
15. “I Can’t Wait To Show You”
16. “I Won’t Scream For You”
17. “Last Page”
18. “Our Ending”
19. “Heartland At Night”

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s