Megadeth storm global charts with new album ‘The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!’

MEGADETH debuted at the top of the charts with first week sales on new album The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!, taking the No. 3 spot on both the Official UK Album Chart and the US Billboard 200, marking their 8th US Top 10 album of their career, and matching the US chart impact of previous album, the Grammy-winning Dystopia.  

MEGADETH also dominated the charts internationally, achieving the band’s highest ever chart appearances in numerous territories:

  • Finland (No. 1) * 
  • Australia (No. 2) *
  • Poland (No. 2) *
  • Switzerland (No. 2) *
  • Scotland (No. 2) *
  • UK (No. 3) *
  • Germany (No. 6) *
  • Belgium (No. 6) *
  • Netherlands (No. 7) *
  • Austria (No. 8)*
  • Spain (No. 8) *
  • Norway (No. 9)
  • Sweden (No. 9)
  • Japan (No. 10) 
  • Canada (No. 11)
  • France (No. 12) *
  • Italy (No. 15) *

*Highest-Ever chart entry For MEGADETH

‘The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead’ Headline World Tour begins in February 2023 and includes a Sunday night headline slot at Bloodstock Festival in Derbyshire on 13th August. Tickets are available here.

The thrash metal pioneers also staked their claim on the Web3.0 space today unveiling their one-of-a-kind project, Rattleheads, a generative art NFT collection drawing on 40 years of the band’s iconic mascot, Vic Rattlehead; the otherworldly being born in a dungeon of torment and pain. With eyes covered by a riveted-on visor, his mouth clamped shut, and ears closed with metal caps, Vic embodies the phrase “See no evil, hear no evil, speak no evil”.

Produced by Five to One Collective in partnership with Upper Echelon Studios, the collection is inspired by MEGADETH’s long-standing Cyber Army fan club and features militaristic “mission deployment mechanics,” alongside a vast amount of utility to be revealed in upcoming transmissions. 

MEGADETH frontman and leader Dave Mustaine elaborates: 

“As long as MEGADETH has been a band, I’ve made sure that we were leading the charge. Our first album set the standard for thrash metal. We were literally the first band to have a website. Our fan club, Cyber Army was started in 1994. Our 2016 album Dystopia came with a full Virtual Reality experience. And now with the rise of Web3 technology and its ability to directly connect us with our fans – this moment is perfect for MEGADETH. It allows the ultimate connection with our community, and with none other than the almighty Vic Rattlehead as our standard-bearer.”

More info is to be released weekly. If you’re a MEGADETH fan interested in Web3, don’t miss out! Join the Rattleheads Discord to hear the news first!

Official RATTLEHEADS Website

Discord / Twitter / Instagram

Check out our review of The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! here:


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s