Finnish Folk Metal Leaders KORPIKLAANI Unveil Second “Kulkija” Track-By-Track Episode

New Album, Kulkija, out September 7, 2018 via Nuclear Blast

There are only three days left until fans of Finnish folk metal superstars KORPIKLAANI can finally enjoy the band’s new studio album, Kulkija (“Wanderer”). Yesterday, the band published part two of a track-by-track series, in which vocalist Jonne, fiddler Tuomas, and accordionist Sami revealed more details about the following new songs:

06. Korppikalliota

07. Kallon malja
08. Sillanrakentaja
09. Henkselipoika
– Track-by-Track #1:
– Check out KORPIKLAANI‘s latest single ‘Aallon alla’, here:

Pre-order Kulkija in various formats, here:
Pre-order the album digitally to receive ‘Aallon alla’‘Henkselipoika’‘Harmaja’ and ‘Kotikonnut’ instantly!
Pre-save Kulkija via Spotify
Listen to the tracks in the NB Novelties Playlist

Kulkija will be available in the following formats:
– DIGI + BEER KOOZIE (NB Mailorder exclusive)
– 2LP (black, yellow)

More on Kulkija:
‘Henkselipoika’ OFFICIAL VIDEO:
Trailer #1 – Musical Development:
Trailer #2 – Recordings & Production:

Kulkija – Track Listing:

01. Neito
02. Korpikuusen kyynel
03. Aallon alla
04. Harmaja
05. Kotikonnut
06. Korppikalliota
07. Kallon malja
08. Sillanrakentaja
09. Henkselipoika
10. Pellervoinen
11. Riemu
12. Kuin korpi nukkuva
13. Juomamaa
14. Tuttu on tie

With 14 tracks and a total running time of over 71 minutes, Kulkija is the group’s longest album to date. Working with producer Janne Saksa for the first time, the album was recorded at Petrax Studio (Hollola, FIN) and mixed at Sound Supreme Studios (Hämeenlinna, FIN). Mastering duties were handled by renowned engineer Svante Forsbäck (RAMMSTEIN a.o.).

The cover was designed by Jan Yrlund (BATTLE BEASTMANOWAR etc.), who has already created several artworks for previous albums and singles for the band.

Founding member Jonne  commented:
“We’ve never been as satisfied with a final result as we are with Kulkija. We tried to keep it very natural. Like the wanderer, this album is a journey, one that makes you feel good.”

Sami  added:
“Kulkija isn’t just a collection of songs, it’s a “real” album with a unique atmosphere guiding the listeners through a long journey. All songs were well prepared in advance and nothing needed to be arranged in the studio. Tuomas [fiddle] & I had lots of space to develop and play the folk arrangements.”


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s