VANHELGA Reveal Lyric Video from Forthcoming Album via Osmose Productions

Today, the enigmatic & nightmarish Vanhelga reveal a new lyric video for the track “Relationship in Pieces.”The song is the first track to be revealed from the band’s highly anticipated fifth album, Fredagsmys, which is set for international release on June 29th via Osmose Productions. See & hear the lyric video for Vanhelga‘s “Relationship in Pieces” HERE.

Vanhelga are constantly expanding their creativity without losing the classic melancholic sound from Sweden that makes them unique. The last few years, they’ve written and recorded 11 tracks that fully live up to their artistic vision. Fredagsmys is the most elaborate album from Vanhelga so far.

True to their own words, their fifth full-length – and first for Osmose – is the continuing exploration of the darker sides of reality and another experiment in how to find its purest expression: using sarcasm combined with overall schizophrenic mood changes between pitch-black hopelessness and cheerful euphoria, but still keeping a level of seriousness Vanhelga has come to be a force to be reckoned with.

Vanhelga was formed in Linköping, Sweden, in 2001 by 145188, who got together with likeminded musicians in order to finally breathe life into his vision, something he had not been able to do with any previous bands and musicians he had worked with. Since then, they are known for their atmospheric and captivating live performances, sharing the stage with, Psychonaut 4, Forgotten Tomb, Harakiri for the Sky, and Kall, among others.

Through music and lyrics, Vanhelga – which, translated from Swedish, means “Profane” – explores the darker side of humanity: the one that few will admit exists, but which nevertheless is a huge part of every individual’s existence.

Vanhelga‘s music can doubtlessly be classed as black metal, but that would be too restrictive a definition. Their music is cold and sinister, but with melodies and melancholic moments that can draw you in and lull you into a false sense of security before you realize, too late, that you have been caught in an ominous web of sound that sends shivers down your spine.

The first track to be revealed from Fredagsmys is “Relationship in Pieces,” which can be heard HERE at Osmose‘s official YouTube channel. Cover and tracklisting are as follows:

unnamed (1).jpg

Tracklisting for Vanhelga’s Fredagsmys
1. Sömnparalys
2. Psykotisk självinsikt
3. Varde mörker
4. Ensam mot alla
5. Förpassad till misär
6. Två blir ett
7. Keep the window closed
8. RIP (Relationship in pieces)
9. Feels like breathing in sulfur
10. You are temporary
11. Fredagsmys

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s