Abysmal Dawn sign to Season of Mist

Season of Mist are proud to announce the signing of ABYSMAL DAWN. The Californian extreme metal stalwarts will release their much anticipated fifth album through Season of Mist.

ABYSMAL DAWN comment: “We’re very happy to be signed to such an awesome and respected label like Season Of Mist. The people there are all die-hard metalheads and we’re glad to be a part of such an enthusiastic and strong team. We also have a long standing friendship with US label manager Gordon Conrad, who originally signed us. Working with Gordon, Michael, and the other amazing people at the label was just a no-brainer. We’re very excited about the future of ABYSMAL DAWN these days, and judging by the new material that we’ve been working on, some great things are to come soon enough.”

ABYSMAL DAWN were founded in the year 2003. Hailing from Los Angeles, California, USA, the band set out to combine the brutality and hooks from old school death metal with the more atmospheric and melodic approach of the more modern bands of that time. Their first declaration of intent, a three-song demo released in winter 2004 garnered early interest within the underground scene and invitations to perform alongside such established headliner as HATE ETERNAL, ABORTED, and others.

With their debut full-length, ‘From Ashes’ (2006), ABYSMAL DAWNimmediately made bigger splashed and gained international recognition. The release was followed by a first US tour supporting SIX FEET UNDER and DECAPITATED as well as many more shows.

Subsequently, ABYSMAL DAWN experienced some changes in their line-up, which left Charles Elliott as the only original member. The reformed band entered studio in August 2010 to record ‘Leveling the Plane of Existence’, which was unleashed in the following year. Mixed and mastered by Erik Rutan (CANNIBAL CORPSE, HATE ETERNAL), their third full-length featured guest-appearances by Moyses Kolesne (KRISIUN) and Kragen Lum (HEATHEN), who both contributed guitar solos. A tour with CANNIBAL CORPSE and EXHUMED underscored the band’s growing status.

The Americans had established themselves firmly within their country’s death metal canon and continued to cement their base with the sophomore album, ‘Programmed to Consume’ (2008). With more experience under their belt, this record witnessed the band taking a big step in regards of their songwriting while carefully expanding their horizon without betraying the original spirit. More touring followed with such prolific acts as MISERY INDEX, ORIGIN, and OBSCURA among others.

ABYSMAL DAWN had begun to deliberately expand on the technical side of their music, a trend which the following album, ‘Obsolescence’ (2014) took even further. More diverse than ever, the Californians started to tour Europe supporting DEATH TO ALL and LOUDBLAST in 2015, while North America got to see their rising band again with CANNIBAL CORPSE, OBITUARY, CRYPTOPSY, and more in the following two years.

Having re-invented themselves once again through a new line-up, the four-piece around mastermind Charles Elliott is now preparing to take on the world with their forthcoming fifth full-length via Season of Mist. Get ready for ABYSMAL DAWN launching a massive assault in 2018.

Charles Elliott: guitars, vocals
Eliseo Garcia: bass, additional vocals
James Coppolino: drums
Vito Petroni: guitars


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s