Founding member and drummer of extreme metal icons CHILDREN OF BODOMJaska Raatikainen, has announced to join MERCURY CIRCLE, the brand new project by by Iconcrash’s and Swallow the Sun’s Jaani Peuhu.

Being around with CHILDREN OF BODOM for remarkable twenty six years and touring the globe ever since, the band’s enthralling mix of melodic hooks and instrumental acrobatics have solidified them as one of the leading voices of music’s new generation. It has been hard for Jaska Raatikainen to make any strict musical future plans since quitting COB in 2019, but all of this changed when he heard the demos by Peuhu.

After hearing the demo tracks from the upcoming debut album I thought it would be stupid not to join this band. The music was something I hadn’t heard for a long time. Dark, emotional, epic elements and big choruses.
I am truly excited for the opportunity to be part of this. I know it is a long way to the top but with these guys I feel honoured and ready to do it again.”

CHILDREN OF BODOM is one of Finland’s most successful bands, whose name has its roots in perhaps the most famous murder mystery in the Finnish country. The band managed to release ten studio albums and reached numerous fans around the world with their technical death metal. CHILDREN OF BODOM‘s last performance was at the Helsinki Ice Hall on December 15, 2019.

Raatikainen‘s new musical adventure, MERCURY CIRCLE, just unleashed their well received brand new debut EP, titled “The Dawn Of Vitriol”, on August 14th via Noble Demon and The Vinyl Division. Born as a brainchild in 2018 by two times Finnish grammy award nominated producer, songwriter and musician Jaani Peuhu, MERCURY CIRCLE is creating a diverse offering of atmospheric and darkly music where the songs differ wildly in expression and sonic aesthetics, establishing their very own kind of “New Doom”. Already working on their first full length record for early 2021, the final words belong to Jaska Raatikainen:

“The Dawn Of Vitriol” is out now on Noble Demon and The Vinyl Division and available to purchase at THIS LOCATION
“The Dawn Of Vitriol”:
01. Oil Of Vitriol02. The Beauty Of Agony
03. Black Flags04. The Last Fall
05. New Dawn


Jaani Peuhu – Vocals, Guitars, Synths (Iconcrash, Swallow the Sun, Hallatar)

Jussi Hämäläinen – Guitars, Synths, Backing vocals (Hanging Garden, The Chant)

Juppe Sutela – Guitars (To/Die/For)

Ande Kiiski – Bass (Sleep of Monsters, Rytmihäiriö)

Jaska Raatikainen – Drums (Children of Bodom)

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s