ARCHITECTS return with new album ‘Holy Hell’ – out Nov 9th, Biggest EU/UK Tour & New song ‘Hereafter’


Architects, the Brighton-based outfit Kerrang! recently awarded the title of “Best British Live Band” and The Guardian said feature “gloriously crafted anthems of defiance,” return with their eighth album, Holy Hell, on November via Epitaph Records. The band has simultaneously debuted the song and video for “Hereafter”, which was directed by Jeb Hardwick. Watch it HERE.

Holy Hell marks the band’s first release since the untimely passing of Tom Searle, Architect’s founding guitarist, principal songwriter and twin brother to drummer Dan. “In those first months after Tom’s death, I didn’t deal with it at all and I felt so unhappy and anxious,” Dan explains. “I’d ignored it and just tried to cope. But I knew that at some point, I had to learn from it.”

“It’s at times like that you ask yourself, ‘What is left?’” adds vocalist Sam Carter. “As a group of friends, we had to find something.”

“Ultimately, there were two choices,” Dan says. “Feel sorry for yourself and believe the world to be a horrible place and let it defeat you. Or let it inspire us to live the life that Tom would have wanted us to live. I was very worried about people taking away a despondent message from the album. I felt a level of responsibility to provide a light at the end of the tunnel for people who are going through terrible experiences.”

Finding a way forward, the band spent six months from the Fall of 2017 through the Spring of this year recording what would become the 11-song album, with Dan and guitar player Josh Middleton handling production. “For me, broadly speaking Holy Hell is about pain: the way we process it, cope with it, and live with it,” Dan offers. “There is value in pain. It’s where we learn, it’s where we grow.”

Holy Hell track list:

  1. Death Is Not Defeat
  2. Hereafter
  3. Mortal After All
  4. Holy Hell
  5. Damnation
  6. Royal Beggars
  7. Modern Misery
  8. Dying To Heal
  9. The Seventh Circle
  10. Doomsday
  11. A Wasted Hymn

Architects have also announced their biggest-ever European/UK tour, taking place in January and February 2019. The band will be playing several arenas, including Wembley SSE Arena in London, Lotto Arena in Antwerp, Mitsubishi-Electric-Halle in Dusseldorf, as well as the biggest venues they’ve played in Europe so far. Before this tour, they be heading to Russia and Ukraine for three shows in December this year. Please see below for the full list of dates. Tickets will go on sale this Friday, September 14 at 9:00am UK / 10:00am CET.

4 Dec 2018 – St. Petersburg, A2 (RU) – TICKETS
6 Dec 2018 – Moscow, Adrenaline Stadium (RU) – TICKETS
8 Dec 2018 – Kiev, Stereoplaza (UKR) – TICKETS
6 Jan 2019 – Stockholm, Fryshuset Arenan  (SE) – TICKETS
8 Jan 2019 – Copenhagen, Vega (DK) – TICKETS
10 Jan 2019 – Dusseldorf, Mitsubishi-Electric-Halle (DE) – TICKETS
11 Jan 2019 – Antwerp, Lotto Arena (BE) – TICKETS
12 Jan 2019 – Amsterdam, AFAS Live (NL) – TICKETS
14 Jan 2019 – Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse (UK) – TICKETS
17 Jan 2019 – Glasgow, O2 Academy (UK) – TICKETS
18 Jan 2019 – Cardiff, Motorpoint Arena (UK)  – TICKETS
19 Jan 2019 – London, The SSE Arena Wembley (UK) – TICKETS
21 Jan 2019 – Luxembourg, Luxexpo (LUX) – TICKETS
22 Jan 2019 – Lyon, Transbordeur (FR) – TICKETS
24 Jan 2019 – Barcelona, Razzmatazz (ES) – TICKETS
25 Jan 2019 – Bilbao, Santana 27 (ES) – TICKETS
27 Jan 2019 – Paris, Olympia (FR) – TICKETS
28 Jan 2019 – Zurich, Halle 622 (CH) – TICKETS
29 Jan 2019 – Vienna, Gasometer (AT) – TICKETS
30 Jan 2019 – Milan, Alcatraz (IT) Italy – TICKETS
31 Jan 2019 – Prague, Forum Karlin (CZ) – TICKETS
1 Feb 2019 – Warsaw, Stodola (PO) – TICKETS
2 Feb 2019 – Leipzig, Haus Auensee (DE) – TICKETS
3 Feb 2019 – Offenbach, Stadthalle (DE) – TICKETS
5 Feb 2019 – Berlin, Verti Music Hall (DE) – TICKETS
6 Feb 2019 – Munich, Zenith (DE) – TICKETS
8 Feb 2019 – Hamburg, Sporthalle (DE) – TICKETS

Album pre-orders, including physical bundles featuring vinyl and various merchandise, as well as digital pre-orders offering instant downloads of “Hereafter” are available here.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s